Being vegetarian means different things to different people, and people follow a vegetarian diet for different reasons including health, religion, and ethical beliefs. However, a vegetarian diet usually fits one of the following categories:
- Semi-vegetarian – Dairy foods, eggs, chicken, and fish, but no other animal flesh.
- Pesco-vegetarian – Dairy foods, eggs, and fish, but no other animal flesh.
- Lacto-ovo-vegetarian – Dairy foods and eggs, but no animal flesh.
- Lacto-vegetarian – Dairy foods, but no animal flesh or eggs.
- Ovo-vegetarian – Eggs, but no dairy foods or animal flesh.
- Vegan – No animal foods of any type.